joehoyle’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

CHICKPEA VEGAN MEATLOAF

Foto 2015-11-30 20 06 05
Nu när jag ändå är i matvägarna kan jag lika gärna dela med mig av ett recept jag trillade över på internet och ändå vill pröva eftersom jag aldrig har gillat köttfärslimpa. Det är en maträtt jag har tvingat i mig i fasa vid middagsbordet som liten men aldrig lärt mig tycka om. Men detta är en vegansk version av köttfärslimpa och innehåller kikärtor istället för kött och jag är rent ut sagt en hoe för kikärtor så om jag känner mig rätt så kommer jag älska denna limpan. Och som jag sa i tidigare inlägg så testar jag sällan recept som jag hittar på nätet för jag glömmer bort dom men om jag lägger up dom på bloggen är dom lätta att komma åt även för mig!
Now when I’m already blogging about food I might as well share a recipe i stumbled upon on the internet that I wanna try since I’ve never liked meatloaf. It’s a dish I’ve forced down with horror at the dining table when I was little but never learned to like. But this is a vegan version and contains chickpeas instead of meat and I’m a downright hoe for chickpeas so if I know myself right I will love this loaf. And as I said in earlier post I hardly ever try recipes that I find on the internet because I forget about them but if I post them on my blog they’re easy to get even for me!

PICRURE AND RECIPE SOURCE: http://www.connoisseurusveg.com/

Foto 2015-11-30 20 09 53I N G R E D I E N T S
FOR THE CHICKPEA MEATLOAF
2-14 oz. cans or 3⅓ cups cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 onion, diced
2 celery stalks, chopped
2 carrots, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups panko breadcrumbs
½ cup unflavored soy or almond milk
3 tbsp. vegan Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp. soy sauce or tamari
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. ground flax seeds
2 tbsp. tomato paste
1 tsp. liquid smoke
¼ tsp. black pepper

Foto 2015-11-30 20 34 33FOR THE MAPLE GLAZE
¼ cup tomato paste
2 tbsp. maple syrup
2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp. soy sauce or tamari
1 tsp. paprika

I N S T R U C T I O N S

Preheat oven to 375°. Lightly oil a 9 inch loaf pan. Working in batches if needed, place all meatloaf ingredients into food processor bowl and pulse until chickpeas are broken up and ingredients are well mixed, stopping to scrape down sides of bowl as needed. Do not overblend. If working in batches, transfer each batch to a large mixing bowl when complete and then mix by hand. Press mixture into prepared loaf pan and bake 30 minutes. While meatloaf bakes, stir glaze ingredients together in a small bowl. Remove loaf from oven after 30 minutes and spoon glaze overtop of loaf. Bake another 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool at least 10 minutes before cutting.
N O T E S

The longer this sits, the firmer it gets. If it initially feels a bit soft for your liking, let it sit a for a few minutes or prep it a day in advance and reheat the day of serving.

1 Comment»

  Anneli wrote @

Hey my lovely, I’m sure you get it a lot but I wanted to express how much I enjoy reading your blog! I think we’d be friends if we ever met, and I’m definitely trying this recipe chickpeas are my life.
btw put more ads on your blog- I’ll click on them all for you, then you can buy more roses!!
All the love x


Leave a Reply

