joehoyle’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

DON’T SHAME SPOTS AND SCARS

Version 2What do I know? One may wonder. This is not even that bad. And you’re right – it’s not bad at all. But speaking as someone who has a history of unfortunate skin conditions and let’s say, I do not have the good skin gene like my baby smooth sister, I know more than one may think. I am not very comfortable with posting pictures like this but at the same time I don’t feel bad about it either. It’s just the aftermath of a recent breakout, it’ll be gone before I know it. Considering I had quite severe acne a few years back I know how painful it can be both physically and mentally. I know how much it hurts to have burning pimples all over the face that even cracking smile would hurt. I know how much it hurts to burst out crying from feeling trapped in your own skin like a prisoner – day and night. I was so self-conscious that I wouldn’t even go outside for a second without makeup because I was so afraid of what people would say or basically glance at me. I know how cruel people can be and I tasted their bitter medicine before. I don’t want you who’s currently struggling with acne to feel as though you’re not good enough, because you are! Don’t hold yourself back because of a skin condition that isn’t even permanent. Don’t listen to anyone who has something dumb to say. I know exactly how difficult it can be to get back up and brush the dirt off your knees but do not doubt yourself and miss out on life! You are not your acne, scars or spots. You are a wonderful, beautiful and great person that deserve to feel amazing regardless of how your skin looks! 

15 Comments»

  zuzanna wrote @

such an inspiration, still beautiful no matter what ~!

  Angelina wrote @

Johanna, you`re an amazing person! You deserve all things of the world and I think that`s sooo difficult not to be afraid of showing such pictures and feeling ashamed! You`re my hero! ❤

  Lisa wrote @

Hej Johanna!
Är det alltid såhär eller är det “bara” ett tillfälligt utbrott? Jag skulle vilja veta vad du använder för smink över:)
Mvh Lisa

  Johanna Herrstedt wrote @

Det är bara tillfälligt. Dock varade detta utbrottet längre än vanligt, men det är inget att gnälla över känner jag 🙂 Kommer lägga upp en inlägg i veckan om vilka produkter jag använder så hang on bara!

  Michelle wrote @

Johanna, you are lovely 🙂 Do you feel like running or exercise helped you with breakouts in general? Do you avoid any kind of foods?

  Johanna Herrstedt wrote @

Thank you 🙂 I feel like running has helped a bit, it kinda helps calming down the swelling pimples can give. I think it has to do with the increase of blood circulation. Although if I sweat a lot (regardless of exercise) and don’t get to wash it off quick enough I even get more pimples. It’s a fine line I suppose! I don’t restrict myself from certain foods but I don’t eat much meat tho

  Freja wrote @

Åh tack Johanna! Behövde verkligen den här confidence-boosten idag. Måste bara fråga; du tog tetralysal tabletter förut (vilket jag gör just nu), tog du dem under flera omgångar – eller räckte det med bara en? 🙂

  Johanna Herrstedt wrote @

Jag gjorde två omgångar men jag behövde inte den andra förrän nästan ett år senare. Jag tror det är rätt individuellt. Lycka till med din kur, fina du 🙂

  Emily Morgan wrote @

You are such a beautiful person inside and out. I’ve been a fan of yours for a while and I am so, so happy that you’ve started this blog. I learn so much from you from these daily posts about beauty, skin care, nature, and self-improvement (and you have an amazing eye for photography to boot!). I’ve recently started school to become an esthetician specializing in skin care and I know that making posts like this public are by no means easy, no matter who you are or the state of your skin. It shouldn’t be so difficult for people to just be themselves and let their skin breathe and glow naturally, but for those who suffer from acne or scarring, no matter how much or little, it can be debilitating. So thank you so much for this post, I know it is certainly helping hundreds, if not thousands, of people out there who admire and look up to you. 🙂

  Loren wrote @

1000s? Ha! I appreciate the vote of cofindence, but that simply isn’t true 🙂 And it’s hard, I think, because of classic supply and demand. His attention is sporadic, thus making it more valuable to me.

  Mona wrote @

Beautiful no matter what!!! Du utstrålar verkligen skönhet, Johanna, både på utsidan och insidan. Vill även tillägga att jag haft problem med mild acne och känner igen mig i allt du skriver. Men min acne försvann när jag började dricka 3-4 liter vatten dagligen! Helt otroligt! Kanske inte hjälper alla såklart, men ändå värt att testa. De flesta brukar ha dålig magfunktion (inte regelbunden så att säga) och det brukar oftast gå i hand med dålig hy eftersom toxiner pch annat skräp som befinner sig i tarmarna inte elemineras regelbundet som det egentligen bör göra. Jag hade detta problem själv och sen jag började dricka 3-4 liter vatten per dag så försvann både mina magproblem och min acne. Lycka till och kämpa på, fina du! ❤

  Anneli wrote @

This post is so inspiring my lovely, I felt I should just express my appreciation. In the picture above you are honestly one of the most beautiful and courageous women I have ever seen. I very much enjoy your blog, and I like to think we’d be friends if we ever met. All the love to you, beautiful and precious girl x

  Moa wrote @

Åh vilket bra inlägg, hjälte-insats verkligen! Jag kände igen mig i det du skrev, och tror att sånt här kan ge pepp till många av oss som kämpar! Och du är jättefin, inside-out verkligen. ❤
Jag är nu 20 år och verkar ha ungefär liknande hudtyp som du – ljus, typisk skandinavisk, eventuell lite torr och mina finnar är just nu värre än någonsin..
Jag undrar vart du gick och fick hjälp, tex när du fick tetralysal utskrivet? Jag bor också i göteborgsområdet men har tyvärr inget vidare förtroende för min närmsta vårdcentral.. Skulle du rekomendera läkaren du hade och att påbörja en tetralysalkur?
Hoppas att du alltid behåller ditt underbara självförtroende och att jag en dag kan få något liknande! Lev väl ❤

  Ruby wrote @

No one can talk more about acne than a person who experience it all. Thank you Johanna for this courageous article. You truly are an inspiration.

  Johanna Pay wrote @

Johanna, this post is very uplifting. I would have never guessed you got breakouts. Your skin is always so gorgeous! I too struggle with breakouts. What do you recommend in terms of skin care and how do you go about handling breakouts? Any advice would be wonderful.
Cheers!


Leave a Reply

